First visit to Redhouse Gardens.

image

There’s something quite magical about the The Red House gardens. A high red brick wall surrounds the grounds which are secluded and peacefully quiet. I am immediately taken back to childhood and to a feeling of finding a secret garden.

image

I can already hear bird song before I enter the garden, Blue tit, Great tit, Blackbird and a Collared Dove calling.

 

image

image

It’s not long before my colleague spots a Goldcrest at the top of a tree and I then remind myself that I am here to take photos and complete a bird count!

image

 

We follow the path and firstly hear and then see a pair of Greenfinch. Two Herring Gull fly over and a Jackdaw can be heard in the distance.

After a quick walk around the grounds we decide where best to place the feeders, I have brought a selection of bird food, fat balls, peanuts, sunflower seeds and dried mealworm. The feeders are then placed in various areas of the garden and a scattering of mealworm to try to entice perhaps a Robin or so. Its not long before a Robin sings to us!

image

Our first customer for the mealworm is a male Blackbird, he clearly doesn’t want to miss an easy meal!

image

 

While waiting and watching we observe 2 Wren who are being very vocal, 6 Chaffinch, 2 Robin, 6 House Sparrow, 3 Starling, 3 Crow, 8 Woodpigeon, a Jay and 4 Ring necked Parakeet!

It may take some time for the birds to get used to the feeders, but I’m very excited to be able to regularly feed and observe them. I can’t wait to see what other birds are already visiting the gardens over the year and what others we can attract! I will keep you posted!

The Red House and Gardens opens to the public in March. Please check their website for opening days/time and admissions. http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/redhouse

Observers: Donna Zimmer and Steve Carter

Photography and Report: Donna Zimmer

 

 

Leave a comment